The Darkness, Permission to land,

Jun 6, 2023

Posted By Tracy Fuller

I am a music enthusiast with a deep love for the energy of crowded venues, loud music, & passionate fans. I have a diverse background that includes private security, talent buying, festival security planning, & media relations. I've also worked as a camera operator for various projects, including music videos featuring notable artists like Bernz, Tech N9ne, & Krizz Kaliko. Additionally, I am a camera operator for Full Moon Features, where I contribute to the production of horror movies.

The iconic British rock band The Darkness is celebrating the 20th anniversary of their groundbreaking debut album, “Permission To Land.” This multi-platinum record revolutionized the rock music scene and propelled The Darkness to worldwide fame. To commemorate this milestone, the band is embarking on a global tour, aptly named the “Permission To Land 20” tour, with North American dates scheduled from October 3rd to October 22nd. This article will delve into the details of this highly anticipated tour and the band’s remarkable journey.

The Darkness: A Brief Introduction

The Darkness is a British rock band formed by singer/guitarist Justin Hawkins, guitarist Dan Hawkins, bassist Frankie Poullain, and drummer Rufus Taylor. Known for their electrifying performances and infectious sound, The Darkness quickly rose to prominence in the early 2000s, captivating audiences with their unique blend of classic rock influences and flamboyant stage presence.

Permission To Land: The Game-Changing Debut Album

“Permission To Land” marked The Darkness’ entry into the music scene with an explosion. Released 20 years ago, this album became an instant sensation, defying the prevailing trends and revitalizing the rock genre. It featured hits like “I Believe In A Thing Called Love,” “Growing On Me,” and “Love Is Only A Feeling,” which showcased the band’s impressive musical skills and Justin Hawkins’ soaring falsetto vocals.

Celebrating 20 Years of Rock Brilliance

As The Darkness reaches this significant milestone, they are thrilled to reflect on the past two decades filled with unforgettable moments, chart-topping success, and an unwavering dedication to their craft. Their resilience and commitment to creating powerful, timeless rock music have solidified their position as one of the most beloved bands of their generation.

The Global Permission To Land 20 Tour

To honor the 20th anniversary of “Permission To Land,” The Darkness is embarking on an ambitious global tour, taking their electrifying performances across continents. The tour promises to celebrate their remarkable journey and is a treat for longtime fans and new listeners.

North American Leg Dates and Venues

The North American leg of the Permission To Land 20 tour is set to kick off on October 3rd in San Francisco, California. The band will then captivate audiences in various cities, including Sacramento, Los Angeles, Tempe, Las Vegas, Denver, Kansas City, Chicago, Indianapolis, Detroit, Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Sayreville, and Washington, D.C.

Here are the confirmed dates and venues for the North American leg of the tour:

  • 10/3: San Francisco, CA – The Masonic
  • 10/4: Sacramento, CA – Ace of Spades
  • 10/6: Los Angeles, CA – The Wiltern
  • 10/7: Tempe, AZ – Marquee Theatre
  • 10/8: Las Vegas, NV – Brooklyn Bowl
  • 10/10: Denver, CO – Summit Music Hall
  • 10/11: Kansas City, MO – The Truman
  • 10/13: Chicago, IL – The Vic Theatre
  • 10/14: Indianapolis, IN – The Vogue
  • 10/15: Detroit, MI – Saint Andrew’s Hall
  • 10/17: Boston, MA – Big Night Live
  • 10/18: New York, NY – Terminal 5
  • 10/19: Philadelphia, PA – Franklin Music Hall
  • 10/21: Sayreville, NJ – Starland Ballroom
  • 10/22: Washington, D.C. – 9:30 Club

Fans in these cities can prepare for an unforgettable night of high-energy performances and nostalgia-inducing rock anthems.

Reliving the Magic: Setlist Highlights

During the Permission To Land 20 tour, The Darkness will treat audiences to a mesmerizing journey through their debut album. From the splendid riffs of “Black Shuck” to the iconic “I Believe In A Thing Called Love,” fans can expect to relive the magic of the entire Permission To Land tracklist. The band will also captivate the crowd with hits and fan favorites from their subsequent studio albums, including “One Way Ticket To Hell…and Back,” “Hot Cakes,” “Last Of Our Kind,” “Pinewood Smile,” “Easter Is Cancelled,” and “Motorheart.”

Beyond Permission To Land: The Darkness’ Discography

While Permission To Land remains a pivotal album in The Darkness’ career, the band’s discography extends far beyond it. Over the years, they have consistently delivered electrifying music that showcases their creativity and versatility. From their sophomore release, “One Way Ticket To Hell…and Back,” to their most recent album, “Motorheart,” The Darkness has continued to evolve, experimenting with new sounds while staying true to their rock roots.

An Unforgettable Experience: VIP Upgrades

For fans seeking an enhanced concert experience, The Darkness offers VIP Experience ticket upgrades. These exclusive packages provide opportunities for meet and greets with the band members, access to soundchecks, and other exciting perks. By availing the VIP upgrades, fans can create lasting memories and forge a deeper connection with their favorite rock icons.

The Deluxe Edition: Permission To Land…Again

To coincide with the Permission To Land 20 tour, The Darkness is releasing a special expanded deluxe edition of their debut album, titled “Permission To Land…Again.” This reimagined edition features bonus tracks, rare recordings, and exclusive content to delight fans and provide a fresh perspective on the timeless rock classics.

As The Darkness celebrates the 20th anniversary of their groundbreaking debut album, Permission To Land, they invite fans across North America to join them on a rock-filled journey. With their dynamic performances and a setlist spanning their illustrious career, The Darkness promises an unforgettable experience for both long-time enthusiasts and newcomers alike. Don’t miss the opportunity to be part of this remarkable celebration of rock music.


    Submit a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *